ANA National elections timetable finally out, as venue shifts from Enugu to Makurdi

The Electoral Committee set up by the Association of Nigerian Authors, (ANA) National Advisory Council has released time table for the national election which was inconclusive last year.

The election which is for National Officials of the Association will now hold on Saturday, 28th March 2020 at J.S Tarka Foundation, Makurdi, Benue at 10am prompt.

According to a release by Chairman of the Electoral Committee, Professor Jerry Agada, the election will be the only business of the day, noting that:

“Only qualified delegates shall be allowed into the election venue,

“For the purpose of the above, the Committee shall rely on the list of delegates already forwarded to it by Chapter Chairmen, which shall be screened to ensure conformity with what they had sent to the National Secretariat for the botched Enugu Convention,

“Delegates shall bear the cost of their participation at the Election while the Committee will take care of venue, security & electoral materials.

“Non-delegates are advised to stay away from the election venue to avoid being embarrassed,

“There is room for fresh contestants to all the positions in the Association. Those interested have between the date of publication of this time table and the election date to do the needful,

“Fresh contestants, like the old ones, must fulfill all constitutional conditions for the office they seek to occupy”, he enumerated.

Agada in his press release also expressed sadness that “These are not the best of times for ANA, the Committee therefore, appeals to all members to please put the overall interest of the Association above every other. The Committee particularly appeals for the cooperation and support of all delegates towards the success of this election to take ANA out of the embarrassing situation it finds itself. It is the prayer of the Committee that God grants all delegates safe trip to and from the venue of the election”.

Other members of the committee include Odia Ofeimun, Professor Olufemi Obafemi, Dr. Wale Okediran, Professor Remi Raji, Professor Akachi Ezeigbo and Professor Mary Nwoye.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s