SCHOOL RESUMPTION: Abia to hold Education Summit tomorrow

The Executive Governor of Abia State, Dr Okezie Victor Ikpeazu, has approved the convocation of a special summit on education to deliberate on modalities for reopening of public and private schools in the state to enable our exit class students in primary and secondary schools as well as final year students of tertiary institutions write their relevant local and international examinations.

Based on the foregoing, the following stakeholders are hereby invited to attend the summit holding at the Michael Okpara Auditorium of Government House, Umuahia, on Thursday, 30th July, 2020 at 11am prompt:

1. State Chairmen of Nigeria Union of Teachers (NUT), All Nigeria Confederation of Principals of Secondary Schools (ANCOPSS) and Association of Primary School Heads of Nigeria ( AOPSHON)

2. Three representatives of National Association of Proprietors of Private Schools (NAPPS), Abia Chapter, drawn from the 3 senatorial zones of the state

3. Three representatives of National Association of Parent-Teacher Association of Nigeria (NAPTAN) drawn from the 3 senatorial zones of the state.

4. Presidents of Students Union Government of State owned tertiary institutions

5. The Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Education

6. Acting Executive Secretary, Secondary Education Management Board (SEMB) and the Deputy Executive Secretaries

7. Acting Chairman, Abia State Universal Basic Education Board (ASUBEB)

8. The EXecutive Secretary, Hospitals Management Board (HMB)

9. The Executive Secretary, Abia State Primary Health Care Development Agency

10. State Chairman, Nigeria Medical Association (NMA)

11. Chairman of Christian Association of Nigeria (CAN), Abia State Chapter

12. The Registrar, Examination Development Commission

13. Rectors of all Colleges and Polytechnics in Abia State

14. The Vice Chancellor, Abia State University (ABSU), Uturu

15. The Chairman, Abia State Council of Traditional Rulers and his Deputies

16. The Honorable Commissioners for Education, Finance, Health, Justice, Works, Local Government and Information.

17. Chairman, Abia State House of Assembly Committee on Education

18. Chief of Staff to the Governor

19. Secretary to the State Government

20. The Deputy Governor of Abia State

All the invitees must be seated before the arrival of the Governor as well as ensure strict compliance to all relevant COVID-19 protocols.

Thank you.

Chief John Okiyi Kalu
Honorable Commissioner for Information, Abia State

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s